Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classical and Modern Languages

A guide to Classical and Modern Languages resources available through the library

Finding Journal Articles

Search the databases below for scholarly (academic or peer-reviewed) or news sources.

If you're not on campus, you'll be asked to log in before connecting to the database.

Some databases link to full articles, but you might need to open the Full Text Journals List and search for the journal title.

If an article is not in our library or online, order it through Inter-Library Loans. It's free, but usually takes a week or two.

If you're writing a paper or giving a formal presentation, don't forget to cite your sources!

General Databases

Lists of Databases

Accessing Databases & ebooks from Home


If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access resources from off campus.  Click what you need, and you'll see a white screen asking you to log in.  Once you log in, it should link to the resource you clicked.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).  You can also claim the id yourself.

InterLibrary Loans

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other items unavailable through the library. The service is available to all students, staff and faculty, is usually free and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the library supplying us.

ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms. In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.

For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.

BU Library QuickLinks

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Rainer Schira
He/Him
Contact:
You can also reach me over Teams.
Or email me to set up a Zoom call.
204.727.7463