Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classical and Modern Languages

A guide to Classical and Modern Languages resources available through the library

BU Library QuickLinks

Accessing Databases & ebooks from Home


If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access resources from off campus.  Click what you need, and you'll see a white screen asking you to log in.  Once you log in, it should link to the resource you clicked.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).  You can also claim the id yourself.

Dictionaries and Reference

These are just a few relevant resources. See the catalogue or your friendly librarian, if you'd like help finding more!

Dictionaries:

Cree Alberta Elder's Cree Dictionary (Cree-English and English-Cree) Reference PM988.L42

French Le Nouveau Petit Robert (French dictionary) Reference PC2625. R642 1994

French Le Visuel Compact: Dictionnaire Thematic Francais (illustrated) Reference PC2629.C67

German Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary Music PF3640. C68

Latin (medieval) Medieaval Latin Dictionary Reference PA2890. N54 2002

Sioux Dictionary of the Teton Dakota Sioux Language: Lakota-English, English-Lakota, with Considerations of Yankton and Santee Reference PM1024.Z9T42

Spanish Firefly Spanish-English Visual Dictionary (illustrated) Reference PC4640. C67


For Literature:

French New Oxford Companion to Literature in French Reference PQ41. N49

French Canadian Canadian Literature in French Reference Z1377.F8D56

French Canadian Dictionnaire des Auteurs de Langue Francaise en Amerique du Nord Reference PS9081.H36

General Crown Guide to the World's Great Plays, Ancient Greece to Modern Reference PN6112.5 S45 1984

German  Encyclopedia of German Literature (Click link & log in with your BU username and password)

Greek Concise Dictionary of Greek Literature Reference PA31.M29

Italian Dictionary of Italian Literature (Click link & log in with your BU username and password)


Other Language:

Finding our Talk Music PM231. F55 (13 Videos about a range of First Nations and Metis language issues)

Ka Isi Ahyahmeyak: The Way We Speak: An Annotated Bibliography of Aboriginal Language Resources in Manitoba Reference PM301.K3

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Rainer Schira
He/Him
Contact:
You can also reach me over Teams.
Or email me to set up a Zoom call.
204.727.7463