Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BU Library QuickLinks
Library Home Page
The home page of the John E. Robbins Library
BU Library Catalogue
Search the library catalog for books, journals, and online links
BU Journal List
The list of journals that Brandon University students and faculty have access to
BU Database List
The list of databases that Brandon University students and faculty have access to.
Dictionary of Lexicography by
Dictionaries are among the most frequently consulted books, yet we know remarkably little about them. Who makes them? Where do they come from? What do they offer? How can we evaluate them? This book provides answers to all these questions and addresses a wide range of issues: the traditions of dictionary-making; the different types of dictionaries and other reference works (such as thesaurus, encyclopedia, atlas and telephone directory); the principles and concerns of lexicographers and other reference professionals; and the standards of dictionary criticism and dictionary use.
A Dictionary of Phonetics and Phonology by
This is a dictionary of terms in phonetics and phonology written for students and teachers. It should be of interest to all those concerned with or working in speech therapy. The terminology of articulatory phonetics is covered in detail, and there is also treatment of important acoustic and auditory phonetics.