Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BU Library QuickLinks
Library Home Page
The home page of the John E. Robbins Library
BU Library Catalogue
Search the library catalog for books, journals, and online links
BU Journal List
The list of journals that Brandon University students and faculty have access to
BU Database List
The list of databases that Brandon University students and faculty have access to.
Online Literature Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than 'universal' psychological archetypes, myths, or esoterica.
Dictionary of Native American Literature
A comprehensive guide to the oral and written literatures of Native Americans, produced by scholars of the Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures. It features some 40 substantive biographical and critical essays on individual authors that assess two centuries of writing in English
The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms
Covering both established terminology as well as the specialist vocabulary of modern theoretical schools, this is a helpful guide to the principal terms and concepts encountered in debates over literary studies in the 21st century.
The Shakespeare Name Dictionary
From characters, animals and buildings to officals, geographic locations, and much more, 'The Shakespeare Name Dictionary' is the complete guide to names in all of Shakespeare's plays.