Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BU Library QuickLinks
Library Home Page
The home page of the John E. Robbins Library
BU Library Catalogue
Search the library catalog for books, journals, and online links
BU Journal List
The list of journals that Brandon University students and faculty have access to
BU Database List
The list of databases that Brandon University students and faculty have access to.
Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other items unavailable through the library. The service is available to all students, staff and faculty, is usually free (although not in the case of most dissertations) and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the library supplying us.
ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms. In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.
For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.
Dissertations and Theses
A dissertation is definied as a lengthy, formal treatise, especially one written by a candidate for the doctoral degree at a university. Sometimes these are indexed in subject databases. Many times they aren't, so there are specialized indexes for them. A few of those specialized indexes are below. ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global (at the top of the list) is an excellent place to look.
If you need a dissertation found in one of these indexes and the dissertation can't be found online, then it's going to take the library's time and probably your money to obtain the dissertation. The people to talk to are the interlibrary loans staff - see the box to the left. The good news is that many universities are making an effort to put their student's dissertations online.
ProQuest Dissertation and Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering nearly 5 million citations and 2.6 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online
An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH).
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
Theses Canada Portal
The central access point for Canadian theses and information about the Theses Canada program.