Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some of our frequently requested books....
American Indian History by
Call Number: Online. 2 volumes
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
This collection surveys Native American history from ancient times to the twentieth century. Entries cover specific topics and incidents from a Native American perspective, in categories of Pre-Columbian history, Colonial history, Eighteenth century history, Nineteenth century history, Twentieth century history, Court cases and legal decisions, Wars and battles, Reservations and relocation, Organizations, Religion and missionary activities, National government and legislation, Native government, Treaties, and Protest movements.
Library also has print copies - Reference - First Floor E77. A44 2 volumes.
Handbook of North American Indians
Call Number: Reference E77.H25 Multiple volumes (Library also has copies in Indigenous Curriculum Collection - volumes 4, 5, and 17 only.)
Publication Date: various
From Volume 4’s chapter on The Indian in the Movies to Volume 13’s coverage of the Sundance, these books provide a wealth of social and historical information.
Annual Reports of the Bureau of (American) Ethnology
Call Number: Online. Library also has print copies in Reference Government Documents E51.U55 Volumes dating back into the 1800’s.
Publication Date: various
Lots of lengthy articles and many images. For example, the 1885/86 volume has an entry by W. J. Hoffman titled The Mide’wiwin or “Grand Medicine Society of the Ojibwa. It’s more than 150 pages, and includes songs, drawings of invitation sticks, sacred posts, and a diagram of a ghost lodge.
Call Number: Reference Government Documents (in Gov Docs area) JL103.C3 Volumes from 1861-1930 (note - there are more volumes on the shelf than there are in the record)
Publication Date: Various
Older government reports (such as those from Indian Agents) and documents may be searched in the Sessional Papers collection – and don’t hesitate to ask for help when you can’t find what you want.
Some Sessional Papers also are available online - see
Native American Literatures by
Call Number: Reference PS153.I52W47
Publication Date: 1999-03-24
Contains short articles on individual authors – including Gerald Vizenor, Leslie Marmon Silko, Sherman Alexie – as well as entries on individual works, on important characters in works, and on terms and events of historical significance that figure in many of the works.
The Annotated Indian Act and Aboriginal Constitutional Provisions
Call Number: KE7704.5.H39 Various years on the Second Floor Main Library and the Indigenous Curriculum Collection.
Outlines sections of the Indian Act/relevant court cases. It includes information on case law, commentary on sections, relevant constitutional provisions, regulations to the Indian Act – and there are federal and provincial references.
Report of The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples
Call Number: Second Floor E78. C2R46 Various volumes/ also online
Multiple subjects. For example, volume 3 (E78.C2R46 v.3) titled Gathering Strength includes sections on The Family (The centrality of family, child welfare reform, family law), Health and Healing (From past to the present, social and emotional health, perspectives on health and healing), Housing, Education, Arts, Heritage.
Report of the Aboriginal Justice Inquiry of Manitoba
Call Number: Second Floor KEM529.5. C75A75 1991 / also online
Publication Date: 1991
Includes information on concepts of justice, policing, alternatives to incarceration, justice systems, and the deaths of Helen Betty Osborne and John Joseph Harper.
Call Number: KE7704.5.I5 Various years Also Government Documents and online versions
BU Library Catalogue does not list most acts individually - please ask for assistance. However, there is a collection of separate copies of the Indian Act in the Main collection. Note the dates available - if there is not a separate copy of the one you want, please ask for assistance.
Copies of the Indian Act also may be found online. Here are 2 options:
Tuberculosis in Canada
Call Number: Main Stacks RC314. T88/ also online
Deals with Tuberculosis in Canada, including tuberculosis statistics in Indigenous communities.
NOTE: Annual Reports of federal and provincial departments and agencies may be found throughout the Library collection. Annuals may contain information about a department’s policies, projects, personnel and finances. Use the BU Library Catalogue to identify call numbers for these materials and/or online links. If you require assistance in locating annual reports, please ask for assistance.
Suggestions on specific government departments may be found in the Links section for Government in this LibGuide: