Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History - Suggestions
Government of Canada: Advanced Search
Search government repositories, websites, documents, Statistics Canada. A good choice for beginning a search for Canadian materials.
Digital Collection of Manitoba Government Publications
Contains digital versions of published Manitoba government documents from the early 2000s (and sometimes even earlier) to present. Included are major reports and public information from departments and government agencies. Coverage: mainly 1996-present; site does contain some older materials as well.
Includes Canadian Online, Héritage and Early Canadiana Online
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.
Gateway to Aboriginal Heritage / Canadian Museum of History
"Explore a selection of material drawn from the Museum's artifact and archival collections. Historical and contemporary objects, images, and documents vividly express the cultural diversity as well as the creativity, resourcefulness, and endurance of this country's First Nations, Métis, and Inuit peoples."
Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1864-1990
"This database contains references to be found in more than 40,700 digitized pages of the original annual reports for the Indian Affairs portfolio for the years 1864 to 1966 and the complete annual reports for the department of Indian Affairs from 1967 to 1990.
The annual reports for Northern Affairs are not included in this database....
In 1991 the departmental annual report was integrated into the Estimates Part III which includes the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Performance Report and the Public Accounts, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada and Canadian Polar Commission."
Indigenous Peoples of North America/Our World
Select the Indigenous Peoples Studies link at the middle/top of the page.
Also links to SABIN AMERICANA: "Over 6 million pages from Joseph Sabin's books, pamphlets, serials and other documents." (History of the Americas, 1500–1926).
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal)
"iPortal is a full-text database of free & licensed articles, books etc for scholar, student & community focused primarily on Aboriginals & First Nations of Canada"