Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News - Suggestions
If you know the name of the newspaper you want, try the title in A to Z list.
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
"Canada's Premier Aboriginal newswire, employment, event and tender service."
Media company covering Northwest Territories and Nunavut
Turtle Island Native Network
Includes links to indigenous news, resources, communities, business, culture, education, healing & wellness, as well as discussion forums.
Turtle Island News/Archive
""Turtle Island News is Canada's only national native weekly newspaper, published every week at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario, complimented by our growing online version, the only national native online-daily of its kind in Canada."
Newspapers - in Progress
Here is a list (in progress) of SOME Indigenous newspapers. Remember - if you have a specific title and want to know if the BU Library has access (either in print or online) to that title, check it in the Journals A to Z list. For example, see Windspeaker.
Journals A to Z List
Journal A to Z List through Primo
Alberta Native News
From their site: "Canada's first non-government funded Native newspaper"
Look for the online archive in the About Us/Print Archive section. (holdings 1993-94; 2005 to present) Published by the Union of Ontario Indians.
First Nations Drum
From their site: "Canada's Largest First Nations Newspaper"
Kainai News (1968-1991)
Also available in print in BU Library. (Blood Tribe, Alberta, then Indian News Media)
National Heritage Digitization Strategy /
Windspeaker (1986-2015), Ha-Shilth-Sa (1974-2017), Turtle Island News (2001-2013) and Nunatsiaq News (1976-78).
New Breed Magazine
1970-2009 (Saskatchewan Metis)
The New Nation
"The New Nation: La noovel naasyoon, is a publication of the Gabriel Dumont Institute (GDI), which promotes Métis history and culture, the Institute’s activities and programs, and the larger Métis community in the province. Four issues a year will be published, one for each season: winter, spring, summer, and fall."
"The Nation Magazine is the only independent Indigenous news source serving the Cree of James Bay. For over 25 years we have acted as the sole and most-trusted provider of Cree and James Bay-related print content in northern Quebec and Ontario."
Northern Ontario's First Nation Voice since 1974
Media and Media Coverage - Suggestions
American Indian Film Gallery
"The AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011. The majority of the films date to the golden age of U.S. educational and sponsored filmmaking, after World War II up to the advent of portable video. Interestingly, the video age marks a shift in the collection from films about Native peoples to films by Native peoples. This historical span, then, allows for study of Native representation from outside and inside indigenous communities across the Americas over nearly a century. As such, it is an incomparable teaching and research tool for examining historical attitudes, representations, and understandings of indigenous populations across the Americas.
In its fully-realized state, the American Indian Film Gallery will establish UA as a center for study of image and representation of Native peoples of the Americas, and will support on-going research in Southwestern and Borderlands interdisciplinary studies—serving the outreach and research missions of the University.
The American Indian Film Gallery (AIFG) is an online collection of films by and about Native peoples of the Americas, compiled and digitized by historian J. Fred MacDonald. In July 2011, this collection was awarded to the University of Arizona, edging out prestigious institutions across the hemisphere. The original films are preserved by the Library of Congress; this digital resource now resides at the University of Arizona."
Reporting in Indigenous Communities
"Helping Journalists. Decolonizing Journalism."