Virtual Displays

June - Pride Month

International Pride Day is held on June 28th annually after the Stonewall riots in 1969. June is recognized as a month for celebrating and educating people on the 2SLGBTQIA+ community. Canada goes one step further by hosting Pride events from June to September. This display specifically covers community, introductory information, and the Two-Spirit community.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Community
• Introductory Materials
• Two Spirit

June - Italian Heritage Month

Canada is home to over 1.5 million people with Italian heritage, representing about 3.6% of the population. This display celebrates their collective contribution to Canada. It will showcase works on their creative fiction, history, music, and religion.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• History
• Literature
• Music

June - National Rose Month

Roses are one of the most beautiful and romanticized flowers. June’s primary birth flower is roses, and June is National Rose Month in Canada. Roses have inspired artists for generations. It moves people to act on love and inspiration. This display celebrates all 300+ species of roses.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Literature
• Music and Poetry
• Roses

June - Pride Month

International Pride Day is held on June 28th annually after the Stonewall riots in 1969. June is recognized as a month for celebrating and educating people on the 2SLGBTQIA+ community. Canada goes one step further by hosting Pride events from June to September. This display specifically covers community, introductory information, and the Two-Spirit community.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Community
• Introductory Materials
• Two Spirit

May - Spring in Full Swing

Spring is in full swing, so here are some books to celebrate a season of life and warmth after a long Winter. This display includes books on frogs, gardening, and mushrooms. Have fun and enjoy your Spring!

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Frogs
• Gardening
• Mushrooms

May - Asian Heritage Month

Beginning in 2002, this month commemorates the contributions that people of Asian descent made to make Canada into the country it is today. It celebrates their achievements and their heritage. Their culture and creative works. Their music and their religion. Please join in the commemoration by taking some time to learn a little more.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Creative Fiction
• History
• Music
• Religion

May - International Day Against LGBTQIA+ Discrimination

Held May 17th annually, IDAHOBIT coordinates events to raise awareness and knowledge of LGBTQIA+ rights, discrimination, and movements. It continues to grow annually as it advances rights for people with diverse genders, orientations, and sex characteristics.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Education
• History Of
• International Contexts
• Youth

May - Spring in Full Swing

Spring is in full swing, so here are some books to celebrate a season of life and warmth after a long Winter. This display includes books on frogs, gardening, and mushrooms. Have fun and enjoy your Spring!

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Frogs
• Gardening
• Mushrooms

April - Stress Awareness Month

This is an annual health awareness month dedicated to raising education of and support for stress management. This display is split between stress management and academic stress.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Academic Anxiety and Stress
• Stress Management

April - Earth Day

Earth Day started in 1970 (1980 in Canada) and continues annually on April 22nd to raise awareness and support for environmental protection. This display will focus on climate change, Earth Day itself, ethics, philosophy, politics, public perception, and sustainability.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Climate Change and Sustainability
• Earth Day
• Ethics and Philosophy
• Perception and Politics

April - National Poetry Month

Beginning in 1996 by the Academy of American Poets after the success of Black History Month and Women's History Month. It promotes poetry through a combination of promotions, education, and special readings.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Canadian Poetry
• Children's Poetry
• Indigenous Poetry
• International Poetry

April - Stress Awareness Month

This is an annual health awareness month dedicated to raising education of and support for stress management. This display is split between stress management and academic stress.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Academic Anxiety and Stress
• Stress Management

March - Women's History Month

Women’s History Month commemorates the contributions and reflect on moving together towards gender equity and equality. This display will highlight a few influential women in Canadian history, groups of women in Canada, and a collection about women’s rights in the past few decades.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Influential Women in History
• Women in History
• Women's Rights

March - Bees

Bees are wonderful. They're fuzzy and cute. They pollinate our flowers and make honey. They even make for great puns. This library display focuses mainly on beekeeping, bee preservation against extinction, and bees in general.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Beekeeping
• Bee Preservation
• Bees

March - Mois de la Francophonie

Mars est le Mois de la Francophonie au Canada et le 20 mars est la Journée internationale de la Francophonie. Ces journées commémorent la langue française, la culture francophone et la diaspora française dans son ensemble.

March is the Month of the Francophonie in Canada and March 20th is International Day of La Francophonie. They commemorate the French language, Francophone culture, and the overall French diaspora.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Culture and Language
• Film and Literature
• History

March - Saint Patrick's Day

Despite being seen as a holiday to drink copious amounts of Irish-themed alcohol (please drink responsibly and know your limits), it originally commemorated Saint Patrick and the arrival of Christianity to Ireland in the 5th century. Christian religious celebrations are still part of this holiday, as is celebrating the Irish diaspora.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Irish Culture
• Saint Patrick's Day
• Safe Drinking

March - Women's History Month

Women’s History Month commemorates the contributions and reflect on moving together towards gender equity and equality. This display will highlight a few influential women in Canadian history, groups of women in Canada, and a collection about women’s rights in the past few decades.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Influential Women in History
• Women in History
• Women's Rights

February - Valentine's Day

Valentine's Day is held on February 14th each year and was originally a Christian religious feast day. Now it commemorates love and companionship. Exchanging cute Valentine's cards, chocolates, or flowers are all common practices in Canada.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Love and Romance
• Safe Sex Information
• Valentine's Day

February - Black History Month

Canada commemorates the important peoples and events in the African Diaspora (a worldwide collection of communities descended from people from Africa). Canada's theme for this year's Black History Month is "Black Legacy and Leadership: Celebrating Canadian History and Uplifting Future Generations."

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• African Diaspora
• Black Canadian History
• Black Leadership in Canada

February - Louis Riel Day

Louis Riel was a Canadian politician, a found of the province of Manitoba, and a political leader of the Métis people. His dream of a province that embraces all cultures is still shared by Manitobans today. This holiday is held in Manitoba on the 3rd Monday of February to commemorate Métis culture and Riel's vision.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Louis Riel Jr.
• Métis Culture
• Métis History

February - Valentine's Day

Valentine's Day is held on February 14th each year and was originally a Christian religious feast day. Now it commemorates love and companionship. Exchanging cute Valentine's cards, chocolates, or flowers are all common practices in Canada.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Love and Romance
• Safe Sex Information
• Valentine's Day

January - New Years

There are many cultures that celebrate the beginning of a new year. This display will cover some practices from Canada, New Year's practices from other countries, and the history of the calendar itself.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• A History of Calendars
• Canadian New Year's
• International New Year's

January - Alzheimer's Awareness Month

Alzheimer's Disease (AD) is a chronic neurodegenerative disease that often leads to dementia. January is Alzheimer's Awareness Month in Canada so this display will hopefully inform others on Alzheimer's, living with AD, and treating AD.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Advances in Research
• History of Alzheimer's
• Living with Alzheimer's
• Personal Stories

January - Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Martin Luther King Jr. was an activist, American Baptist minister, and political philosopher. He was a civil rights leader for people of color in USA through nonviolence resistance and civil disobedience. He was assassinated on April 4th, 1968.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Biographies
• Books by Martin Luther King Jr.
• Civil Rights Movement

January - New Years

There are many cultures that celebrate the beginning of a new year. This display will cover some practices from Canada, New Year's practices from other countries, and the history of the calendar itself.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• A History of Calendars
• Canadian New Year's
• International New Year's

December - Kwanzaa

This holiday is held December 25th - January 1st to commemorate African-American culture. Its seven principles are Umoja (unity), Kujichagulia (self-determination), Ujima (collective work and responsibility), Ujamaa (cooperative economics), Nia (purpose), Kuumba (creativity), and Imani (faith).

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• History
• Stories
• Symbols

December - Christmas

This holiday commemorates the birth of Jesus Christ from Christian religion as well as theming around family gift giving and feasting on December 25th. Santa Claus and his elves are said to deliver presents to children worldwide during this holiday.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• History
• International
• Stories

December - Hanukkah

This holiday is held on 25th of Kisev (a month in the Hebrew calendar) over 8 days. Typical customs include lighting 1 candle on a menorah each day, playing dreidel, singing Hanukkah songs, and special foods or gifts.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Culture
• History
• Stories

December - Kwanzaa

This holiday is held December 25th - January 1st to commemorate African-American culture. Its seven principles are Umoja (unity), Kujichagulia (self-determination), Ujima (collective work and responsibility), Ujamaa (cooperative economics), Nia (purpose), Kuumba (creativity), and Imani (faith).

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• History
• Stories
• Symbols

November - Remembrance Day

Remembrance Day is held on November 11th each year to recognize and honor armed forces veterans who died in war. It is held primarily in Commonwealth countries, but similar holidays are also held in other nations (such as Veteran's Day in the U.S.A.).

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Art and Culture
• History of the War
• Mental Health Impacts
• Women in the War

November - Indigenous Veterans Day

Indigenous Veterans Day takes place on November 8th each year. It recognizes and celebrates the Aboriginal contributions to military service, especially with regards to the World Wars and the Korean War.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Fictional Stories
• Indigenous War History
• Personal Accounts

November - Movember

Movember is a month-long event that raises awareness for men's health, particularly with regards to prostate cancer, suicide, and testicular cancer. This is often done through charity donations to groups such as the Movember Foundation.

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Mental Health
• Mustaches
• Prostate Cancer
• Testicular Cancer

November - Remembrance Day

Remembrance Day is held on November 11th each year to recognize and honor armed forces veterans who died in war. It is held primarily in Commonwealth countries, but similar holidays are also held in other nations (such as Veteran's Day in the U.S.A.).

This virtual display covers the following topics:

• Art and Culture
• History of the War
• Mental Health Impacts
• Women in the War