The purpose of this guide is to showcase the monthly virtual displays created by the John E. Robbins Library. They will be filled with books from the library, eBooks, and other online materials that can also be found through our search database (link below). Each month will have different themes to their displays and will be kept open access in the future.
Christmas is a hybrid of Christian tradition with secular gift giving. Hanukkah is a Hebrew holiday symbolized by the menorah over 8 days. Kwanzaa celebrates African-American culture and the African diaspora as a whole. These three holidays are widely celebrated across Canada so this book has many books to cover them.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Held annually on December 9th since 1948, Genocide Prevention Day was created by the United Nations to raise awareness and prevention of genocides. This display honors that to cover the history, prevention, and reconciliation of genocides.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
IDPD is held on December 3rd annually to commemorate several things: promoted leadership of people with disabilities, ensure their inclusion, raise awareness of their rights, and celebrate their achievements. This display focuses on disability studies as well as equity and inclusion.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Created in part by the United Nations and several environmental groups, this holiday was created to educate people and help mitigate global pollution before it is too late. This display covers environmental ethics, environmental justice, as well as pollution and its mitigation.
This display covers the following topics:
This display covers a wide range of stories from Indigenous Canadian authors, including anthologies across various genres, Indigenous histories and stories, as well as more visual storytelling from comics and graphic novels. It also contains links to other places you can find Indigenous literature.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
These books are new to the library and can be found in the New Books Display on the main floor by the main staircase. The books are sorted by which faculty they best fall under or which collection they will belong to.
We highly encourage everyone to check out these books.
These are some of our favourite books and we hope you will love them as much as we do!
All patrons are highly encouraged to check out these books for themselves.
For further reading, please look through the other tabs in this section. These virtual displays use a variety of approaches to cover their monthly themes, as listed below. More approaches will be added in the future as more virtual displays are made.
Research appointments can also be booked with Marian Ramage or Rainer Schira from the main John E. Robbins Library webpage by using the Make A Research Appointment link on the left.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane, Donna Lowe, and Rainer Schira.
If you need help finding books, the Finding Books guide should be able to help you.
If you need a book that isn't in our catalogue, you can use the InterLibrary Loans or Off-Campus Library Services guides. There is also a form to request new library sources that can be found here.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject expert for this topic is Rainer Schira.
The subject expert for this topic is Carmen Kazakoff-Lane.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject expert for this topic is Stacey Lee.
The subject expert for this topic is Stacey Lee.
The subject expert for this topic is Chris Hurst.
The Sexualized Violence Education and Prevention Coordinator for Brandon University is Jessica Laxdal.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane, Donna Lowe, and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Marian Ramage and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Marian Ramage and Rainer Schira.
You can book research appointments with two people at the John E. Robbins Library, with their information listed below.
Marian's contact information can be found here. Marian covers the following guides:
Rainer's contact information can be found here. Rainer covers the following guides:
