For further reading, please look through the other tabs in this section. These virtual displays use a variety of approaches to cover their monthly themes, as listed below. More approaches will be added in the future as more virtual displays are made.
Research appointments can also be booked with Marian Ramage or Rainer Schira from the main John E. Robbins Library webpage by using the Make A Research Appointment link on the left.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane, Donna Lowe, and Rainer Schira.
If you need help finding books, the Finding Books guide should be able to help you.
If you need a book that isn't in our catalogue, you can use the InterLibrary Loans or Off-Campus Library Services guides. There is also a form to request new library sources that can be found here.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject expert for this topic is Rainer Schira.
The subject expert for this topic is Carmen Kazakoff-Lane.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject expert for this topic is Stacey Lee.
The subject expert for this topic is Stacey Lee.
The subject expert for this topic is Chris Hurst.
The Sexualized Violence Education and Prevention Coordinator for Brandon University is Jessica Laxdal.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The most beneficial guides for this approach are as follows:
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane, Donna Lowe, and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Carmen Kazakoff-Lane and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Marian Ramage and Rainer Schira.
The subject experts for this topic are Marian Ramage and Rainer Schira.
You can book research appointments with two people at the John E. Robbins Library, with their information listed below.
Marian's contact information can be found here. Marian covers the following guides:
Rainer's contact information can be found here. Rainer covers the following guides:
Welcome to the Virtual Display LibGuide.
The purpose of this guide is to showcase the monthly virtual displays created by the John E. Robbins Library. They will be filled with books from the library, eBooks, and other online materials that can also be found through our search database (link below). Each month will have different themes to their displays and will be kept open access in the future.
Bees are wonderful. They're fuzzy and cute. They pollinate our flowers and make honey. They even make for great puns. This library display focuses mainly on beekeeping, bee preservation against extinction, and bees in general.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Mars est le Mois de la Francophonie au Canada et le 20 mars est la Journée internationale de la Francophonie. Ces journées commémorent la langue française, la culture francophone et la diaspora française dans son ensemble.
March is the Month of the Francophonie in Canada and March 20th is International Day of La Francophonie. They commemorate the French language, Francophone culture, and the overall French diaspora.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Despite being seen as a holiday to drink copious amounts of Irish-themed alcohol (please drink responsibly and know your limits), it originally commemorated Saint Patrick and the arrival of Christianity to Ireland in the 5th century. Christian religious celebrations are still part of this holiday, as is celebrating the Irish diaspora.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Women’s History Month commemorates the contributions and reflect on moving together towards gender equity and equality. This display will highlight a few influential women in Canadian history, groups of women in Canada, and a collection about women’s rights in the past few decades.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
These books are new to the library and can be found in the New Books Display on the main floor by the main staircase. The books are sorted by which faculty they best fall under or which collection they will belong to.
We highly encourage everyone to check out these books.
Indigenous Veterans Day takes place on November 8th each year. It recognizes and celebrates the Aboriginal contributions to military service, especially with regards to the World Wars and the Korean War.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Movember is a month-long event that raises awareness for men's health, particularly with regards to prostate cancer, suicide, and testicular cancer. This is often done through charity donations to groups such as the Movember Foundation.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Remembrance Day is held on November 11th each year to recognize and honor armed forces veterans who died in war. It is held primarily in Commonwealth countries, but similar holidays are also held in other nations (such as Veteran's Day in the U.S.A.).
This virtual display covers the following topics:
This holiday commemorates the birth of Jesus Christ from Christian religion as well as theming around family gift giving and feasting on December 25th. Santa Claus and his elves are said to deliver presents to children worldwide during this holiday.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
This holiday is held on 25th of Kisev (a month in the Hebrew calendar) over 8 days. Typical customs include lighting 1 candle on a menorah each day, playing dreidel, singing Hanukkah songs, and special foods or gifts.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
This holiday is held December 25th - January 1st to commemorate African-American culture. Its seven principles are Umoja (unity), Kujichagulia (self-determination), Ujima (collective work and responsibility), Ujamaa (cooperative economics), Nia (purpose), Kuumba (creativity), and Imani (faith).
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Alzheimer's Disease (AD) is a neurodegenerative disease that worsens as it progresses and often leads to dementia. January is Alzheimer's Awareness Month in Canada so this display will hopefully inform others on Alzheimer's, how to live with it, and how to treat for it.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Martin Luther King Jr. was an activist, American Baptist minister, and political philosopher. He was a civil rights leader for people of color in USA through nonviolence resistance and civil disobedience. He was assassinated while fighting against legalized discrimination on April 4th, 1968.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
There are many cultures that celebrate the beginning of a new year. This display will cover some practices from Canada, New Year's practices from other countries, and the history of the calendar itself.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Canada commemorates the important peoples and events in the African Diaspora (a worldwide collection of communities descended from people from Africa). Canada's theme for this year's Black History Month is "Black Legacy and Leadership: Celebrating Canadian History and Uplifting Future Generations."
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Louis Riel was a Canadian politician, a found of the province of Manitoba, and a political leader of the Métis people. His dream of a province that embraces all cultures is still shared by Manitobans today. This holiday is held in Manitoba on the 3rd Monday of February to commemorate Métis culture and Riel's vision.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
Valentine's Day is held on February 14th each year and was originally a Christian religious feast day. Now it commemorates love and companionship. Exchanging cute Valentine's cards, chocolates, or flowers are all common practices in Canada.
This virtual display covers the following topics:
