LibGuides: Virtual Displays: October Displays

October Virtual Displays

The virtual displays for October are ADHD Awareness Month, Halloween, and International Music Day.

The following sections have a variety of topics regarding both displays. Physical displays can also be found by the main circulation desk in the John E. Robbins Library.

ADHD Awareness Month

Beginning in 2004 as a collaboration between different mental health organizations, it is meant to raise education for and awareness of ADHD (attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder), both to help people live with their symptoms and to help those you love with ADHD. This display features books covering ADHD information and stories featuring characters with ADHD.

German Heritage Month

Roughly 10% of Canadians are of German descent as of 2024, totaling over 3 million people in Canada. This month commemorates their many contributions and their cultural history. This display contains materials about Germany's culture, history, literature, music, philosophers, and scientists.

Halloween

With both Christian and Celtic pagan origins, its exact beginning is debated. It is held on October 31st each year where people put up spooky decorations, carve jack-o-lanterns, and go around the neighborhood in the evening wearing costumes trick-or-treating for chocolate and other candy. This display includes books on Halloween, a selection of horror tales, and some kid-friendly scary stories.

International Music Day

Held on October 1st each year since 1975, this holiday commemorates the variety and worldwide significance of music on our lives the musicians behind it. Music brings joy on a bright day, comforts you through pain, has you grooving through work. This display includes sections on music throughout time, music across the world, and Indigenous music from Canada and USA.

The ADHD Explosion by Stephen P. Hinshaw; Richard M. Scheffler
Call Number: RJ506. H9H57 2014

ISBN: 0199790558

Publication Date: 2014-03-03

This book aims to debunk myths and set the record straight; to describe the origins of ADHD and its huge costs to society; the science behind its causes as well as medication and behavioral treatment; and the variation in diagnosis and treatment across the U.S. Dealing directly with stimulants as "smart pills," they describe the epidemic of medicalization, arguing that accurate diagnosis and well-monitored care could ease the staggering economic burden linked to ADHD.
Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder by Russell A. Barkley (Editor)
Call Number: RJ496. A86B37 2015

ISBN: 9781462517725

Publication Date: 2014-10-17

This book addresses all aspects of assessment, diagnosis, and treatment, including psychological therapies and pharmacotherapy. Core components of ADHD are elucidated. It explores the impact of the disorder across a wide range of functional domains--behavior, learning, psychological adjustment, school and vocational outcomes, and health.
Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in Adults and Children by Lenard A. Adler (et al.)
Call Number: RC394. A85A885 2015

ISBN: 9780521113984

Publication Date: 2015-01-08

This book brings together recent research on ADHD and covers the history, diagnosis, epidemiology, comorbidity, neuroimaging, and a full spectrum of clinical options for the management of ADHD. The wide ranging, detailed coverage in this text will be of interest to psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, coaches, physicians, or anyone who wants to develop a deeper understanding of the etiology, characteristics, developmental process, diagnostics, and range of treatment modalities.
Attention Deficit-Hyperactivity Disorder by Hossein Moghadam
Call Number: RJ506. H9M64

ISBN: 1550593099

Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) is a concise source of information on this disorder. It explores the questions and concerns of parents and teachers. Dr. Moghadam and six other experts describe the history of this disorder, its causes, prevalence, and diagnosis. Further chapters are on the use of drug therapy, behaviour management, educational issues, parenting and family life, and other approaches to the management of ADHD. Complications and ADHD in adolescents are also discussed. This book is not a scientific discourse, but rather it is a detailed presentation of the current knowledge on attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. It provides readers with a basic understanding of the disorder and is a reference point for making informed decisions on available treatments, and courses of action.
Cognition and Brain Development by Bhoomika Rastogi Kar (Editor)
Call Number: BF311. C5472 2013

ISBN: 9781433812712

Publication Date: 2013-01-01

This book presents the latest advances in the science of cognitive development. It explores such topics as the role of dopamine in ADHD, the development of self-consciousness and ethics, the use of functional MRI in epilepsy patients, and the crucial role of culture in the development of language. New, converging methodologies derived from behavioral experimentation, electrophysiology, eye tracking, genetics, and neuroimaging studies characterize this research.
The Educator's Guide to ADHD Interventions by Judith R. Harrison; Denise A. Soares; Steven W. Evans
Call Number: LC4713.4. H37E38 2023

ISBN: 9780367626204

Publication Date: 2023-06-01

Designed specifically for middle and high school educators, this guidebook clearly and thoroughly breaks down effective classroom-based interventions for students with ADHD. Chapters walk readers through each intervention, providing step-by-step implementation guides, describing potential pitfalls and offering critical tips and advice to help you ensure that your interventions are both culturally responsive and sustainable. Filled with helpful templates and tools, this book is essential reading for anyone who needs help creating effective, sustainable interventions for students with ADHD.
Emotion-Regulating Play Therapy with ADHD Children by Enrico Gnaulati
Call Number: RJ506. H9G63 2008

ISBN: 9780765705228

Publication Date: 2008-01-28

This book not only offers a novel conceptualization of ADHD but also a sophisticated and practical set of ideas for adapting play therapy to effectively treat it. It articulates an approach to understanding and helping ADHD children that expands and augments even as it challenges the usual neurocognitive and medicalized perspectives.
Handbook of Self-Regulation, Second Edition by Kathleen D. Vohs (Editor); Roy F. Baumeister (Editor)
Call Number: BF632. H36 2011

ISBN: 9781606239483

Publication Date: 2010-10-19

This book examines the conscious and nonconscious processes by which people regulate their thoughts, emotions, attention, behavior, and impulses. Individual differences in self-regulatory capacities are explored, as are developmental pathways. The volume reviews how self-regulation shapes, and is shaped by, social relationships. Failures of self-regulation are also addressed, in chapters on addictions, overeating, compulsive spending, and attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder. Wherever possible, contributors identify implications of the research for helping people enhance their self-regulatory capacities and pursue desired goals.
Medicating Children by Rick Mayes; Catherine Bagwell; Jennifer Erkulwater
Call Number: RJ506. H9M4234 2009

ISBN: 0674031636

Publication Date: 2009-01-31

This book integrates analyses of the clinical, political, historical, educational, social, economic, and legal aspects of ADHD and stimulant pharmacotherapy. Thus, it will be invaluable to educators, clinicians, parents, and policymakers, all of whom are trying to determine what is in the best interest of millions of children.
Neurodiversity in the Classroom by Thomas Armstrong
Call Number: LC4031. A68N48 2012

ISBN: 9781416614838

Publication Date: 2012-10-30

This book argues that we should embrace the strengths of such neurodiverse students to help them and their neurotypical peers thrive in school and beyond. It focuses on 5 categories of special needs: learning disabilities, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, autism, intellectual disabilities, and emotional and behavioral disorders. This practical and thought-provoking book will inspire teachers and administrators everywhere to make sure that all students with special needs get the support and strength-based instruction they deserve.
The Overflowing Brain by Torkel Klingberg
Call Number: BF444. K5513 2009

ISBN: 9780195372885

Publication Date: 2008-11-07

The most pressing concerns with the Information Age are: how do we deal with the daily influx of information that our inundated mental capacities are faced with? At what point does our Stone Age brain become insufficient? Will we be able to train our brains effectively to increase brain capacity in order to stay in step with our inexorable lifestyles? Or will we be stricken with attention deficits because of brain overload? Torkel Klingberg is an international authority on cognitive training. In this book, he addresses these questions as he takes us through the limits and possibilities of the brain. What he suggests is this: if we find a balance between the demand of everyday activities and our limited Stone Age brain capacity, we can maximally develop our working memory - improving our brains and ourselves.
Specific Learning Differences, What Teachers Need to Know (Second Edition) by Diana Hudson
Call Number: LC4704. H84S64 2024

ISBN: 9781839977084

Publication Date: 2024-04-18

This book describes the signs of those that are most commonly encountered in the classroom. Covering: dyslexia, dyspraxia, dyscalculia, dysgraphia, autism spectrum condition, ADHD, OCD and featuring brand new chapters on Pathological Demand Avoidance (PDA), Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD) and tics and Tourette Syndrome, this book covers all the information you need, whilst reminding us that all neurodivergent children are individuals and have different qualities. Diana provides an overview of each identity and evaluates how you may need to adapt your levels of support in the classroom - as well as practical suggestions for modifying teaching materials and methods to make learning enjoyable, effective and accessible for all students.
Teacher's Guide to ADHD by Robert Reid; Joseph Johnson
Call Number: LC4713.4. R386 2012

ISBN: 9781609189808

Publication Date: 2011-10-06

Meeting a key need for teachers, this book provides practical, data-based tools for helping students with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) succeed in the classroom. The authors combine instructional expertise with extensive knowledge about the nature and treatment of ADHD. Coverage includes ways to support students and teach them needed strategies in core areas: academic skills, behavior, self-regulation, and social skills. Step-by-step instructions and concrete examples help teachers implement effective interventions and accommodations. The book also offers crucial guidance for teaming with other school professionals and with parents.
Waiting for Mr. Goose by Laurie Lears; Karen Ritz (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7. L46365W35

ISBN: 0807586285

Publication Date: 1999-10-01

Stephen, who has trouble sitting still and paying attention, surprises himself when he summons up the patience to catch and help an injured goose. Includes a note to adults about children who have difficulty staying focused, including those with ADHD.
What You Think ADD/ADHD Is, It Isn't by Barbara C. Fisher
Call Number: RJ506.H9 F597 2013

ISBN: 9781439839966

Publication Date: 2013-05-20

ADD/ADHD is not as easily diagnosed or clear-cut as many believe; in fact it very often acts as a masking agent for other underlying, contributing disorders. It's important that we understand ADD/ADHD better. This book is the culmination of the author's years of research involving clinical experience and testing, resulting in the first all-encompassing examination of the ADD/ADHD disorder.

I Am Not Joey Pigza by Jack Gantos
Call Number: PZ7. G15334I2 2007

ISBN: 9780374399412

Publication Date: 2007-07-24

Joey's father returns, calling himself Charles Heinz and apologizing for his past bad behavior, and he swears that once Joey and his mother change their names and help him fix up the old diner he has bought, their lives will change for the better.
Joey Pigza Loses Control by Jack Gantos
Call Number: PZ7. G15334J645 2000

ISBN: 0374399891

Publication Date: 2000-09-22

Joey, who is still taking medication to keep him from getting too wired, goes to spend the summer with the hard-drinking father he has never known and tries to help the baseball team he coaches win the championship.
Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key by Jack Gantos
Call Number: PZ7. G15334J64 2011

ISBN: 9780312623555

Publication Date: 2011-07-05

To the constant disappointment of his mother and his teachers, Joey has trouble paying attention or controlling his mood swings when his prescription medications wear off and he starts getting worked up and acting wired.
Pay Attention, Slosh! by Mark Smith; Gail Piazza (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7. S65496P39

ISBN: 0807563781

Publication Date: 1997-09-01

Eight-year-old Josh is a great soccer player and he's a smart kid, but he gets into trouble a lot. He has trouble sitting still and paying attention. Sometimes he can't stop talking, even when he knows he's headed for more trouble. When his classmates make fun of Josh and call him Slosh, it's especially painful. After talking to his teacher, Josh's parents deride to take him to a doctor. When the doctor diagnoses Josh and gives them all some helpful advice, things begin to look up. Best of all, over time, Josh's classmates come to appreciate Josh as just another one of the guys.
Racing Fear by Jacqueline Guest
Call Number: PS8563. U37R33

ISBN: 1550288393

Publication Date: 2004-05-01

Why is Trent hanging around Marcus, a guy he can't stand? And why isn't his Ritalin working anymore? When Adam discovers Trent is dealing with the dark side, it's a race to save his friend from himself.
Some Kids Just Can't Sit Still! by Sam Goldstein; Allie Desisto (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1886941734

Publication Date: 2009-04-01

Written in a Seussian style, this delightful story explains why children suffering from attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) react differently to simple situations in their daily lives. Explaining the symptoms of ADHD in an entertaining way, this tale helps children understand their differences, accept treatment, and retain positive self-esteem. Parents, teachers, and doctors will welcome this dialogue concerning how they can help children with ADHD.

German Heritage Month

Becoming Multicultural by Triadafilos Triadafilopoulos
Call Number: JV7225. T698 2012

ISBN: 9780774815666

Publication Date: 2012-04-25

In a world of nation-states, international migration raises questions of membership: Should foreigners be admitted to the national space? And should they and their children be granted citizenship? Canada and Germany's responses to these questions during the first half of the 20th century consisted of discriminatory immigration and citizenship policies aimed at harnessing migration for economic ends while minimizing its costs. Yet, by the end of the century, the admission, settlement, and incorporation of previously excluded groups had transformed both countries into highly diverse multicultural societies. This book explains how this remarkable shift came about.
Bismarck by Edgar Joseph Feuchtwanger
Call Number: DD218. F48 2002

ISBN: 0415216133

Publication Date: 2002-08-09

Bismarck was arguably the most important figure in 19th-century European history after 1815. This book reassesses Bismarck's significance as a historical figure. It traces his development from a typical junker, a reactionary and conservative, into the so-called white revolutionary who recast European affairs more drastically than anyone since Napoleon. Feuchtwanger's lucid account de-mythologizes the German leader without demonizing him. This book leaves the reader with a strongly etched portrait of one of the decisive makers of the modern world.
Bismarck : A Life by Jonathan Steinberg
Call Number: DD218. S795 2011

ISBN: 9780199782529

Publication Date: 2011-04-06

Otto von Bismarck transformed Europe more completely than anybody in the 19thcentury--except for Napoleon. This riveting biography illuminates the life of the statesman who unified Germany but who also embodied everything brutal and ruthless about Prussian culture.
Celebrate Germany by Robyn Hardyman
Call Number: DD17. H343 2009

ISBN: 9781604132663

Publication Date: 2009-04-30

This engaging title for young readers delves into Germany s history, its rich cultural contributions, and popular German sayings. Crafts include making your own Schultüte, a gift filled with school supplies and sweets for a student s first day of school.
Costume Around the World - Germany by Cath Senker
Call Number: GT518. S46 2008

ISBN: 9780791097670

Publication Date: 2008-04-30

Examines the history of fashion and clothing in Germany, discusses the geographical, social, and cultural influences on how people dress, describes both traditional and modern garb, and looks at what men, women, and children are wearing in the early twenty-first century.
Germany by Rob Alcraft
Call Number: DD17. A45 2008

ISBN: 9781432912673

Publication Date: 2008-06-09

Where can you find castles in Germany? Why do some houses have wide sloping roofs? How many different kinds of German sausage are there? Learn answers to these questions and more when you read this book. See the famous sites. Travel over the land. Join in the celebrations. Find out what German children learn in school and what they might do when they are older. See if they play the same sports as you or wear the same kind of clothes. Learn some words in German!
Germany, 1858-1980 : Hope, Terror, and Revival by Alison Kitson
Call Number: DD220. K58G47 2001

ISBN: 9780199134175

Publication Date: 2001

Covering almost 150 years between unification and reunification, with a particular emphasis on the interwar years, this book encourages students to think for themselves around the issues that have affected German history during this period and to consider important historical debates and controversies.
Germany ABCs by Jason Millet (Illustrator); Sarah Heiman
Call Number: DD17. H54 2003

ISBN: 1404800204

Publication Date: 2002-09-01

An alphabetical exploration of the people, geography, animals, plants, history, and culture of Germany.
Germany in the World by David Blackbourn
Call Number: DD17. B527G47 2023

ISBN: 1631491830

Publication Date: 2023-06-06

This book revises conventional narratives of German history, demonstrating the existence of a distinctly German presence in the world centuries before its unification- and revealing a national identity far more complicated than previously imagined. He traces Germany's evolution from the loosely bound Holy Roman Empire of 1500 to a sprawling colonial power to a twenty-first-century beacon of democracy. Viewed through a global lens, familiar landmarks of German history-- the Reformation, the Revolution of 1848, the Nazi regime-- are transformed, while others are unearthed and explored, as it reveals Germany's leading role in creating modern universities and its sinister involvement in slave-trade economies.
A History of Migration from Germany to Canada, 1850-1939 by Jonathan Wagner
Call Number: FC106. G3W34

ISBN: 9780774812153

Publication Date: 2005-12-05

Human migration figures prominently in modern world history, and has played a pivotal role in shaping the Canadian national state. Yet while much has been written about Canada's multicultural heritage, little attention has been paid to German migrants although they compose Canada's third largest European ethnic minority. This book addresses that gap in the record.
Hitler's Germany by Roderick Stackelberg
Call Number: DD256.48. S73 2009

ISBN: 9780415373302

Publication Date: 2008-10-03

This book provides a comprehensive narrative history of Nazi Germany and sets it in the wider context of 19th- and 20th-century German history. The author analyzes how it was possible that a national culture of such creativity and achievement could generate such barbarism and destructiveness.
The Holy Roman Empire 1495-1806 by R. J. W. Evans (Editor); Michael Schaich (Editor); Peter H. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: DD175. H65 2011

ISBN: 9780199602971

Publication Date: 2011-05-19

Once derided as a political non-entity, a chaotic assemblage of countless principalities and statelets that lacked coercive power and was stifled by encrusted structures and procedures, the Reich has been fully rehabilitated by more recent historiography. It is now being hailed by some as a model of peaceful conflict resolution in the center of Europe which, in the long run, was able to defuse the religious tensions created by the confessional divide of the 16th century and to protect its smaller members against the voracious appetite of more powerful neighbours. This book takes stock of new research, particularly in the critical areas of the Empire's constitutional, religious, and social history.
Magnus Hirschfeld : The Origins of the Gay Liberation Movement by Ralf Dose
Call Number: HQ18.32. H57D67 2014

ISBN: 9781583674376

Publication Date: 2014-04-11

This book follows Hirschfeld from his birth in the Prussian province of Pomerania to the heights of his career during the Weimar Republic and the rise of German fascism. Ralf Dose illuminates Hirschfeld's ground-breaking role in the gay liberation movement and explains some of his major theoretical concepts, which continue to influence our understanding of human sexuality and social justice today.
National Geographic Countries of the World: Germany by Henry Russell
Call Number: DD17. R87 2007

ISBN: 9781426300592

Publication Date: 2007-08-14

Learn more about Germany, whose post-war recovery resulted in reunification. In the year after the opening of the Berlin Wall in November 1989, Western political and economic systems were introduced in the East, and two radically different societies began to merge. Germany was reunited on October 3, 1990, after decades of division. Germany's scenic beauty includes Alpine mountain regions, the famous Rhine and Danube rivers, and the Black Forest. Acid rain, from sulfur dioxide emissions, now threatens Germany's old-growth forests.
Rebellion, Community and Custom in Early Modern Germany by Norbert Schindler; Lyndal Roper (Contribution by); Pamela E. Selwyn (Translator)
Call Number: DD65. S27 2002

ISBN: 0521650100

Publication Date: 2002-10-17

When this volume first appeared in German it inspired a whole generation of young scholars. Schindler recreates the lives of both the poor and excluded; the milieu of the burghers; and the rumbustious lifestyles of the Counts von Zimmern. A true archivist, he evokes the lost worlds of sixteenth- and seventeenth-century people. He investigates popular nicknames, snowball fights, carnival rituals, even what people did at night-time before the advent of lighting. A final essay deals with an extraordinary late set of trials for witchcraft, in which over 200 people died.
Summer of Fire and Blood by Lyndal Roper
Call Number: DD182. R674S86 2025

ISBN: 9781541647053

Publication Date: 2025-02-11

The German Peasants' War (1524-1525) was the greatest popular uprising in Western Europe before the French Revolution. This book exposes the far-reaching ramifications of this rebellion. Though the war's victors portrayed the uprising as naive and inchoate, Roper reveals a mass movement that sought to make good on the radical potential of the Protestant Reformation. By recovering what the people themselves felt and believed, it reconstructs the thrilling, tragic story of the peasants' fight to change the world.
Weimar Germany by Eric D. Weitz
Call Number: DD237. W458

ISBN: 9780691016955

Publication Date: 2007-09-24

This book tells how Germans rose from the defeat of World War I and the turbulence of revolution to forge democratic institutions and make Berlin a world capital of avant-garde art. Setting the stage for this story, it takes the reader on a walking tour of Berlin to see and feel what life was like there in the 1920s, when modernity and the modern city--with its bright lights, cinemas, "new women," cabarets, and sleek department stores--were new. It also explores the period's revolutionary cultural creativity, from the new architecture of Erich Mendelsohn, Bruno Taut, and Walter Gropius to Hannah Höch's photomontages and Bertolt Brecht and Kurt Weill's theater.
Weimar Germany by Anthony McElligott
Call Number: DD237. W454 2009

ISBN: 0199280061

Publication Date: 2009-05-25

The Weimar Republic was born out of Germany's defeat in the First World War and ended with the coming to power of Hitler and his Nazi Party in 1933. In many ways, it is a wonder that Weimar lasted as long as it did. And yet, for a period from the mid-1920s it looked as if the Weimar system would not only survive but even flourish, with the return of economic stability and the gradual reintegration of the country into the international community. This book offers an ideal introduction to Weimar Germany, challenging the reader to rethink preconceived ideas of the republic and throwing new light on important areas, such as military ideas for reshaping society after the First World War, constitutional and social reform, Jewish life, gender, and culture.
Women in Nazi Germany by Jill Stephenson
Call Number: HQ1623. S73

ISBN: 0582418364

Publication Date: 2001-10-05

What was the status and role of women in pre-Nazi Germany and how did different groups of women respond to the Nazi project in practice? This book looks at the social, cultural and economic organization of women's lives under Nazism, and assesses opposing claims that German women were either victims or villains of National Socialism.

About Bach by Gregory G. Butler (et al.)
Call Number: ML410. B13A26 2008

ISBN: 9780252033445

Publication Date: 2008-07-03

That Johann Sebastian Bach is a pivotal figure in the history of Western music is hardly news, and the magnitude of his achievement is so immense that it can be difficult to grasp. This book shows that Bach's importance extends from choral to orchestral music, from sacred music to musical parodies, and also to his scribes and students, his predecessors and successors. It also demonstrates a diversity of musicological approaches, ranging from close studies of Bach's choices of musical form and libretto to wider analyses of the historical and cultural backgrounds that impinged upon his creations and their lasting influence.
An Anthology of German Literature by Kim Vivian (Editor); Frank Tobin (Editor); Richard H. Lawson (Editor)
Call Number: PT1105. A55

ISBN: 1577660250

Publication Date: 1998-08-01

The editors of this extensive anthology have provided undergraduate & graduate students of German literature with an exceptional collection of epics, dramas, essays, & poetry covering one thousand years. English translation of selections from the Middle Ages.
The Book of Lieder : The Original Text of Over 1000 Songs by Richard Stokes
Call Number: ML54.6. B66

ISBN: 9780571224395

Publication Date: 2005

This unique volume contains, in parallel translation, a thousand of the most frequently performed Lieder, both piano-accompanied and orchestral. Composers are arranged alphabetically, with their songs appearing under poet in chronological order of composition - thus allowing the reader to engage in depth with a particular poet and at the same time to follow the composer's development. Richard Stokes, whose work in this field is already widely acclaimed, provides illuminating short essays on each of the fifty composers' approach to Lieder composition, as well as well as notes on all the poets who inspired the songs.
The Complete Brothers Grimm Fairy Tales by Jacob Grimm; Wilhelm K. Grimm
Call Number: PZ8. C75K56

ISBN: 9780517092934

Publication Date: 1993-05-09

More than 200 tales by the Brothers Grimm.
German Medieval Tales: Hartmann Von Aue, Konrad Von Wurzburg, and Others by Francis Gentry (Editor)
Call Number: PT1384.G47

ISBN: 0826402739

Publication Date: 1983-04-01

A Collection of German tales from the Medieval period. It includes works by von Aue, Konrad von Wnrzburg, and others.
Im Nonnengarten : An Anthology of German Women's Writing, 1850-1907 by Michelle Stott (Editor); Joseph O. Baker (Editor)
Call Number: PT1109. W6I5

ISBN: 0881339636

Publication Date: 1997-09-01

This is an anthology of 31 German stories written by females during the late 19th & early 20th centuries.
J.S. Bach and His German Contemporaries by Andrew Talle (Editor)
Call Number: ML410. B1B224 2013

ISBN: 9780252038136

Publication Date: 2013-12-19

This book offers a counternarrative to the isolated genius status that J. S. Bach and his music currently enjoy. Contributors contextualize Bach by examining the output, reputation, and compositional practices of his contemporaries in Germany whose work was widely played and enjoyed in his time. Essays place Bach and his work in relation to his peers, examining avenues of composition they took while he did not and showing how differing treatments of the same subjects or texts resulted in markedly different compositional results and legacies.
Johann Sebastian Bach by Martin Geck; John Hargraves (Translator); Kurt Masur (Foreword by)
Call Number: ML410. B1G36713 2006

ISBN: 0151006482

Publication Date: 2006-12-04

250 years after his death, Johann Sebastian Bach remains one of the most compelling figures in the history of classical music. This book follows his career, relations with the German aristocracy, position with regard to the Church and contemporary theological debates, perfectionism, and his role as the devoted head of a large family.
Music and German National Identity by Celia Applegate; Pamela Potter
Call Number: ML275. M933

ISBN: 0226021319

Publication Date: 2002-08-01

This book explores the questions of how music came to be associated with German identity, when and how Germans came to be regarded as the "people of music," and how music came to be designated as "the most German art." Drawing on the expertise of leading scholars in German history, musicology, and German literature, it examines philosophy, literature, politics, and social currents, as well as the creation and performance of folk music, art music, church music, jazz, and pop to explore the ways in which music has continued to play a central role in the German national imagination and in shaping German identity.
Music and Literature in German Romanticism by Siobhán Donovan (et al.)
Call Number: PT363. M8M87 2004

ISBN: 9781571132581

Publication Date: 2004-05-21

Essays on the synthesis of musical and literary arts in German Romanticism as well as looking ahead to the legacy, reception, and continuation of German Romanticism in the modern and postmodern ages. The interrelationship between music and literature reached its zenith during the Romantic era, and nowhere was this relationship more pronounced than in Germany. Many representatives of literary and philosophical German Romanticism held music to be the highest and most expressive, quintessentially Romantic art form, able to convey what cannot be expressed in words: the ineffable and metaphysical.
Music and Monumentality : Commemoration & Wonderment in 19th-Century Germany by Alexander Rehding
Call Number: ML3877. R45M87 2009

ISBN: 9780190656133

Publication Date: 2017-02-01

A few weeks after the reunification of Germany, Leonard Bernstein raised his baton above the ruins of the Berlin Wall and conducted a special arrangement of Beethoven's Ninth Symphony. The central statement of the work, that "all men will be brothers," captured the sentiment of those who saw a brighter future for the newly reunited nation. This now-iconic performance is a palpable example of "musical monumentality" - a significant concept that underlies our cultural and ideological understanding of Western music since the 19th century. This book focuses on the main players of the period within the Austro-German repertoire as it unpacks a twofold definition of musical monumentality.
Music in Germany Since 1968 by Alastair Williams
Call Number: ML275.5. W55 2013

ISBN: 9780521877596

Publication Date: 2013-07-18

This book modifies the dominant historiography of music in post-war Germany by shifting its axis from the years of reconstruction after 1945 to the era following the events of 1968. Arguing that the social transformations of 1968 led to a new phase of music in Germany, it examines the key topics, including responses to serialism, music and politics, and the re-evaluation of tradition.
Music in the Holocaust by Shirli Gilbert
Call Number: ML3776. G55

ISBN: 9780199277971

Publication Date: 2005-06-02

This book provides a critical account of the role of music amongst communities imprisoned under Nazism. It documents a wide scope of musical activities, ranging from orchestras and chamber groups to choirs, theatres, communal sing-songs, and cabarets, in some of the most important internment centers in Nazi-occupied Europe, including Auschwitz and the Warsaw and Vilna ghettos. Gilbert is also concerned with exploring the ways in which music - particularly the many songs that were preserved - contribute to our broader understanding of the Holocaust and the experiences of its victims.
My First Book of German Words by Katy R. Kudela
Call Number: PF3628. K83 2010

ISBN: 9781429632966

Publication Date: 2009-07-01

How do you say hello in German? Explore the pages of this German English picture dictionary to learn new words and phrases. Colorful photographs and simple labels make learning German fun.
The Shocking Ballad Picture Show by Tom Cheesman
Call Number: PT581. B3C44 1994

ISBN: 9780854968930

Publication Date: 1994-08-01

This book introduces anglophone readers to the ballad picture show, a cultural institution which anticipated both the cinema and the tabloid press.
Singing Like Germans by Kira Thurman
Call Number: ML3917. G3T58 2021

ISBN: 9781501759840

Publication Date: 2021-10-15

This book tells the sweeping story of Black musicians in German-speaking Europe over more than a century. It brings to life the incredible musical interactions and transnational collaborations among people of African descent and white Germans and Austrians. It also explores how people reinforced or challenged racial identities in the concert hall throughout the 19th and 20th centuries.
Sovereign Feminine : Music and Gender in 18th Century Germany by Matthew Head
Call Number: ML82. H44 2013

ISBN: 9780520273849

Publication Date: 2013-05-09

Women flourished in the late 18th century German states as musical performers and composers, their achievements measuring the progress of culture and society from barbarism to civilization. This moment in musical history was eclipsed in the first decades of the 19th century, and ultimately erased from the music-historical record. This book restores this earlier musical history and explores the role that women played in the development of classical music.

Albert Einstein by Elizabeth MacLeod
Call Number: QC16. E5M25

ISBN: 1553373979

Publication Date: 2003-02-01

Albert Einstein was one of the most brilliant scientists who ever lived. The theories that he formulated about time, light and gravity have changed how we look at the world, and resulted in many new inventions. But did you know that he was so absent-minded that he once forgot where he lived? Or that, even though he was an advocate of world peace, his work led to the creation of the atom bomb? Using photographs, maps, quotes, letters and drawings, this book introduces young readers to Albert Einstein.
DK Biography: Albert Einstein by Frieda Wishinsky
Call Number: QC16. E5W57 2005

ISBN: 9780756612474

Publication Date: 2005-08-01

DK's acclaimed DK Biography series tackles one of history's most colorful figures in DK Biography: Albert Einstein. Perfect for book reports or summer reading, the DK Biography series brings a new clarity and narrative voice to history's most colorful figures.
Hildegard of Bingen, 1098-1179 by Sabina Flanagan
Call Number: BX4700. H5F54

ISBN: 9780415057936

Publication Date: 1991-03-22

Hildegard of Bingen, the visionary, mystic, poet, musician, naturalist, healer and theologian, was one of the most remarkable women of the Middle Ages. Sabina Flanagan's study of Hildegard's life and work places her writings in the context of medieval life and thought, and shows how, in an age when few women wrote more than an occasional letter, Hildegard's writings not only surpassed those of most of her male contemporaries in the range of their subject matter, but also outshone them in visionary beauty and intellectual power.
Hildegard of Bingen : The Woman of Her Age by Fiona Maddocks
Call Number: BX4700. H5M33 2003

ISBN: 0385498683

Publication Date: 2003-05-20

The 12th-century German abbess Hildegard of Bingen would have been remarkable in any age. Today, her growing reputation as a composer of religious music has overshadowed the astonishing variety of her accomplishments and her part in the scientific, cultural, and theological revolution of the pre-Renaissance, from religion and mysticism to medicine and sex. This book explores the story of Hildegard's life, from her entry into a monastery at Disibodenberg on the Rhine as a child, through the exploration of her pent-up genius in middle years, to her eventual admission to the German canon of saints.
Hildegard of Bingen and Musical Reception by Jennifer Bain
Call Number: ML410. H618B35 2015

ISBN: 9781107076662

Publication Date: 2015-05-14

Since her death in 1179, Hildegard of Bingen has commanded attention in every century. This book traces the historical reception of Hildegard, focusing particularly on the moment in the modern era when she began to be considered as a composer. It places the more recent Anglophone revival of Hildegard's music in a broader historical perspective and reveals the important intersections amongst local devotion, popular culture, and intellectual activities.
Immanuel Kant : Key Concepts by Will Dudley; Kristina Engelhard
Call Number: B2798. I435 2011

ISBN: 9781844652396

Publication Date: 2014-08-20

This book provides an accessible introduction to Kant by explaining each of the key concepts of his philosophy. The book is organized into three parts, which correspond to the main areas of Kant's transcendental idealism: Theoretical Philosophy; Practical Philosophy; and, Aesthetics, Teleology, and Religion. Each chapter presents an overview of a particular topic, while the whole provides a clear and comprehensive account of Kant's philosophical system.
Karl Marx's Ecosocialism by Kohei Saito
Call Number: HB97.5. S23178K37 2017

ISBN: 1583676406

Publication Date: 2017-10-24

This book lays waste to accusations of Marx's ecological shortcomings. Delving into Karl Marx's central works, as well as his natural scientific notebooks-. It also builds on the works of scholars such as John Bellamy Foster and Paul Burkett, to argue that Karl Marx actually saw the environmental crisis embedded in capitalism. Saito's book is crucial today, as we face unprecedented ecological catastrophes--crises that cannot be adequately addressed without a sound theoretical framework. This book shows us that Marx has given us more than we once thought, that we can now come closer to finishing Marx's critique, and to building a sustainable ecosocialist world.
Leibniz : A Very Short Introduction by Maria Rosa Antognazza
Call Number: B2597. A675L45 2016

ISBN: 9780198718642

Publication Date: 2016-12-01

This book outlines the central features of Leibniz's philosophy in the context of his overarching intellectual vision and aspirations. Against the backdrop of Leibniz's encompassing scientific ambitions, she introduces the fundamental principles of Leibniz's thought, as well as his theory of truth and theory of knowledge. Exploring Leibniz's contributions to logic, mathematics, physics, and metaphysics, it considers how his theories sat alongside his concerns with politics, diplomacy, and a broad range of practical reforms: juridical, economic, administrative, technological, medical, and ecclesiastical.
Leibniz : Nature and Freedom by Donald Rutherford (Editor); J. A. Cover (Editor)
Call Number: B2599. F7L45

ISBN: 0195143744

Publication Date: 2005-03-17

This book offers an up-to-date overview of the current state of Leibniz research. In focusing on nature and freedom, the volume revisits two key topics in Leibniz's thought, on which he engaged both contemporary and historical arguments. Important contributions to Leibniz scholarship in their own right, these articles collectively provide readers a framework in which to better situate Leibniz's distinctive philosophy of nature and the congenial home for a morally significant freedom that he took it to provide.
Who Was Albert Einstein? by Jess M. Brallier
Call Number: QC16. E5B7339 2002

ISBN: 9780448424965

Publication Date: 2002-02-18

Recounts the life of the scientist whose theories of relativity revolutionized the way we look at space and time.

Halloween

Apples and Pumpkins by Anne F. Rockwell, Lizzy Rockwell
Call Number: PE1119. R63 1991

ISBN: 9780590451918

Publication Date: 1991

In preparation for Halloween night, a family visits Mr. Comstock's farm to pick apples and pumpkins.
Halloween by Molly Aloian
Call Number: GT4965. A46 2009

ISBN: 9780778743101

Publication Date: 2009-01-15

Ghouls and goblins take to the street in Halloween! But there's more to this spooky celebration than carving pumpkins and trick-or-treating. Halloween explores the history behind this yearly custom, including its roots in ancient Celtic tradition, as well as the costumed and candied evening it is today. Wonderful color photographs bring this celebration to life for young readers.
Halloween by Nicholas Rogers
Call Number: GT4965. R634 2003

ISBN: 0195168968

Publication Date: 2003-10-31

Boasting a rich, complex history rooted in Celtic and Christian ritual, Halloween has evolved from ethnic celebration to a blend of street festival, fright night, and vast commercial enterprise. Drawing on a fascinating array of sources, from classical history to Hollywood films, this book traces Halloween as it emerged from the Celtic festival of Samhain (summer's end), picked up elements of the Christian Hallowtide (All Saint's Day and All Soul's Day), arrived in North America as an Irish and Scottish festival, and evolved into an unofficial but large-scale holiday by the early 20th century.
Holidays Around the World: Celebrate Halloween by Deborah Heiligman
Call Number: GT4965. H373 2007

ISBN: 9781426301209

Publication Date: 2007-08-14

Trick or treat? Celebrate Halloween is a real treat. Vivid images and Deborah Heiligman's lively, inviting text illuminate the spookiest night of the year. The book spirits readers on a front-seat tour of Halloween celebrations around the globe as it explores the rich history of this holiday, the creepy creatures associated with it, and the origins of such customs as carving jack-o'-lanterns and trick-or-treating. Halloween folklore, food, games, costumes, and traditions all combine in a most bewitching brew.

Children of the Bones by Jim Green
Call Number: PZ7. G8232C45 2008

ISBN: 9781597057776

Publication Date: 2008-04-01

An outdoor educational experience for a hundred eighth-graders, counselors, and teachers, turns into a struggle for survival when the boys of Cabin Twelve awaken to find that their friends have mysteriously disappeared.
Coraline by Neil Gaiman; P. Craig Russell (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7.7. R87C6 2008

ISBN: 9780060825447

Publication Date: 2008-06-24

When Coraline steps through a door in her family's new house, she finds another house, strangely similar to her own (only better). At first, things seem marvelous. The food is better than at home, and the toy box is filled with fluttering wind-up angels and dinosaur skulls that crawl and rattle their teeth. But there's another mother there and another father, and they want her to stay and be their little girl. They want to change her and never let her go. Coraline will have to fight with all her wit and all the tools she can find if she is to save herself and return to her ordinary life. This beloved tale has now become a visual feast. Acclaimed artist P. Craig Russell brings Neil Gaiman's enchanting nationally bestselling children's book Coraline to new life in this gorgeously illustrated graphic novel adaptation.
Dark Waters by Catherine MacPhail
Call Number: PZ7. M27D3

ISBN: 9780747555490

Publication Date: 2002

Col McCann becomes a local hero when he saves a boy from drowning but when his older brother is suspected of a serious crime, Col must decide if he should be loyal to his family or tell the truth about what he saw while under the water.
Demon Theory by Stephen Graham Jones
Call Number: PS3560. O5395D46 2006

ISBN: 1596921641

Publication Date: 2006-04-01

A psychological tale of cinematic horror. On Halloween night, following an unnerving phone call from his diabetic mother, Hale and six of his med school classmates return to the house where his sister disappeared years ago. While there is no sign of his mother, something is waiting for them there, and has been waiting a long time. Written as a literary film treatment littered with footnotes and obscure nuances, this book is even parts camp and terror, combining glib dialogue, fascinating pop culture references, and an intricate subtext as it pursues the events of a haunting movie trilogy too real to dismiss. There are books about movies and movies about books, and then there s Demon Theory a refreshing and occasionally shocking addition to the increasingly popular intelligent horror genre.
Haunted by Barbare Haworth-Attard
Call Number: PS8565. A865H38 2009

ISBN: 0002008211

Publication Date: 2009

Dee is feeding the chickens the morning that bones are discovered on the mountain. Something doesn't feel right -- and her feeling is confirmed when local police show her a ring that they found with the bones, a ring belonging to Mary Ann Simpson, who disappeared four years earlier. Other girls, Dee learns, have disappeared too, unusual for a small town nestled in the shadow of the Bruce Peninsula's rugged escarpment, the "mountain" that Dee loves. Like her Gran, Dee has "the sight," an ability not only to see spirits from the afterlife but also to experience their deaths -- a quality that becomes more horrifying as the story takes darker turns. While trying to help with the investigation, Dee is drawn into a deepening mystery that soon strikes terrifyingly close to home.
Monsters by David A. Robertson
Call Number: PS8585. O32115M66 2018

ISBN: 9781553797487

Publication Date: 2018-10-01

Cole Harper is struggling to settle into life in Wounded Sky First Nation. He may have stopped a serial killer but the trouble is far from over. A creature lurks in the shadows of Blackwood Forest, the health clinic is on lockdown by a mysterious organization, and long-held secrets threaten to bubble to the surface. Can Cole learn the truth about his father's death? Why won't Choch give him a straight answer? Where the heck is Jayne? Oh, and high school sucks. Monsters is the second novel in The Reckoner, a series by David A. Robertson.
The Revenant by Sonia Gensler
Call Number: PZ7. G29177R48 2011

ISBN: 9780375867019

Publication Date: 2011-06-14

When seventeen-year-old Willemina Hammond fakes credentials to get a teaching position at a school for Cherokee girls in nineteenth-century Oklahoma, she is haunted by the ghost of a drowned student.
The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson; Michael Lawrence; Ian Andrew (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7.L4368S87

ISBN: 0789420694

Publication Date: 1997-10-01

A retelling of the tale in which a kind and well-respected doctor is transformed into a murderous madman by taking a secret drug of his own creation. Illustrated notes throughout the text explain the historical background of the story.

Attack of the Jack-O'-Lanterns by R. L. Stine
Call Number: PZ7. S756A88

ISBN: 9780590568852

Publication Date: 1996-10-01

PUMPKIN POWER!Nothing beats Halloween. It's Drew Brockman's favorite holiday. And this year will be awesome. Much better than last year. Or the year Lee and Tabby played that joke. A nasty practical joke on Drew and her best friend, Walker.Yes, this year Drew and Walker have a plan. A plan for revenge. It involves two scary pumpkin heads.But something's gone wrong. Way wrong. Because the pumpkin heads are a little too scary. A little too real. With strange hissing voices. And flames shooting out of their faces...
Blessed by Cynthia Leitich Smith
Call Number: PZ7. S64464B44 2011

ISBN: 9780763643263

Publication Date: 2011-01-25

Even as teenaged Quincie Morris adjusts to her appetites as a neophyte vampire, she must clear her true love, the hybrid-werewolf Kieren, of murder charges; thwart the apocalyptic ambitions of Bradley Sanguini, the vampire-chef who "blessed" her; and keep her dead parents' restaurant up and running before she loses her own soul.
The Bones of Fred McFee by Eve Bunting; Kurt Cyrus (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7. B91527B66

ISBN: 0152020047

Publication Date: 2002-09-01

In this rhythmic story, an unsuspecting brother and sister bring a toy skeleton home from the harvest fair. They name it Fred McFee and hang it from a sycamore tree. Soon, eerie things begin to happen: The rooster disappears. The hens won't lay. Most terrifying of all, Fred's bones danceclickety-clack as night winds howl. And then on Halloween night, Fred McFee vanishes! Eve Bunting's gleefully ghoulish tale is sure to become a Halloween classic.
Boo! by Robert Munsch; Michael Martchenko (Illustrator)
Call Number: PS8576. U575B66 2004

ISBN: 9780439961264

Publication Date: 2019-09-03

Lance's Halloween costume is so scary that people fall over when they see it and he takes all their candy.
A Creepy Countdown by Charlotte S. Huck; Jos A. Smith (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ8.3. H853C73

ISBN: 0688154603

Publication Date: 1998-09-17

Ten scary Halloween things, such as jack-o-lanterns, bats, and witches, count from one to ten and then back down again.
Don't Go into the Forest! by Veronika Martenova Charles; Leanne Franson (Illustrator)
Call Number: PS8555. H42242D58

ISBN: 9780773761902

Publication Date: 2001-09-01

Three young boys on a trip to the cottage tell each other spooky tales of children who ventured into the forest after being told not to go there. The stories the boys tell are adapted from various folktales and are presented in an easy-to-read format.
Don't Walk Alone at Night! by Veronika Martenova Charles; David Parkins (Illustrator)
Call Number: PS8555. H42242D68 2007

ISBN: 9780887767821

Publication Date: 2007-02-13

Cautionary tales from West Virginia, Africa, and Central Europe are related by each boy until they are certain Mothman, Monster, and Ghost are after them. Are they scared? Not enough to admit it, but they certainly are running for home a little faster than usual.
The Ghost Collector by Allison Mills
Call Number: PS8626. I455G56 2019

ISBN: 9781773212951

Publication Date: 2019-09-10

Ghosts aren't meant to stick around forever... Shelly and her grandmother catch ghosts. In their hair. Just like all the women in their family, they can see souls who haven't transitioned yet; it's their job to help the ghosts along their journey. When Shelly's mom dies suddenly, Shelly's relationship to ghosts--and death--changes. Instead of helping spirits move on, Shelly starts hoarding them. But no matter how many ghost cats, dogs, or people she hides in her room, Shelly can't ignore the one ghost that's missing. Why hasn't her mom's ghost come home yet? Rooted in a Cree worldview and inspired by stories about the author's great-grandmother's life, The Ghost Collector delves into questions of grief and loss, and introduces an exciting new voice in tween fiction that will appeal to fans of Kate DiCamillo's Louisiana's Way Home and Patrick Ness's A Monster Calls.
The House That Drac Built by Judy Sierra; Will Hillenbrand (Illustrator)
Call Number: PS3569. I39H68

ISBN: 9780152018795

Publication Date: 1998-09-15

One by one, a bat, a cat, a werewolf, a monster, a mummy, a zombie, and other frightful creatures emerge in the dark house. They chase, wrestle, and roar--until the doorbell rings and in walks a group of fearless trick-or-treaters who know exactly what to do.
The Monster's Ring by Bruce Coville; Katherine Coville (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7. C8344M66

ISBN: 9780152046187

Publication Date: 2002-09-01

A timid boy, eager to frighten the school bully on Halloween night, acquires a magic ring and the power to change himself into a hideous monster.
Something Queer at the Haunted School by Elizabeth Levy; Mordicai Gerstein (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7.L5827S64

ISBN: 0440484618

Publication Date: 1983-05-01

When the words Werewolf Power mysteriously appear on the school blackboard, all the children are frightened. Only days before Halloween there are terrifying screams and haunting sounds surrounding the classroom. Jill and Gwen know there's something queer happening. This is their spookiest case ever. What will the detectives discover?
That One Spooky Night by Dan Bar-el; David Huyck (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6733. B37T43 2012

ISBN: 9781554537518

Publication Date: 2012-09-01

Three strange tales filled with shivery fun occur on a dark, spooky night and include the stories of a broom that goes in search of a witch, mermaids who swim in a bathtub and a house party that turns unexpectedly batty.
The Witch's Hand by Nathan Page; Drew Shannon (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6733. P33W58 2020

ISBN: 9780525646761

Publication Date: 2020-07-14

Orphaned teens Pete and Al Montague and their adopted sister, Charlie, already known for solving mysteries in their small New England town, begin studying magic as they investigate a disappearance connected to a seventeenth-century witch.

International Music Day

Carnival Music in Trinidad by Shannon Dudley
Call Number: ML3486. T7D83

ISBN: 0195138333

Publication Date: 2003-10-09

This book examines the history and aesthetics of calypso, steelband, soca, and other genres, relating musical structure, lyrics, sound, and style to the major roles they play in Trinidadian culture. It also analyzes how the instruments, sounds, and lyrics of Carnival music provide a sense of national and ethnic identity. It describes calypso's traditional role as a voice for the common people, acknowledging the tensions between this history and calypso's ties to modern commercial music markets. He also presents the story of the steelband--an art form born in the most downtrodden neighborhoods of Port of Spain--as both a parable of the nation's struggles and successes and as a continuous process of musical exploration.
Mariachi Music in America by Daniel Sheehy
Call Number: ML3485. S54 2006

ISBN: 0195141458

Publication Date: 2005-08-28

This book focuses on the rising popularity of mariachi music amongst Mexican Americans--over the last twenty-five years, numerous mariachi festivals have become annual events in the U.S., a multitude of workshops and school programs have been developed, and more women have become involved in public mariachi performances. it is a captivating study that will interest students, aspiring performers, teachers, and aficionados alike.
Music in America by Adelaida Reyes
Call Number: ML200. R48

ISBN: 0195146670

Publication Date: 2004-11-04

This book looks at both the roots of American musical identity and its many manifestations, seeking to answer the complex question: "What does American music sound like?" Focusing on three themes--identity, diversity, and unity--it explores where America's music comes from, who makes it, and for what purpose. It considers how musical culture is shaped by space and time, by geography and history, by social, economic, and political factors, and by people who use music to express themselves within a community.
Music in Bali by Lisa Gold
Call Number: ML345. I5G65

ISBN: 0195141490

Publication Date: 2004-10-28

This book introduces the ensemble tradition of Balinese music, reflecting cooperative aspects of the island's social organization. Drawing on many years of study with Balinese performers in the United States and extensive fieldwork in Bali, it presents contemporary Balinese performance within its cultural and historical context, linking Bali's rich past to its current role in modern, globalized society. It also illustrates how new compositions borrow material from earlier traditions while also allowing for individual expression and innovation in vibrant present-day culture.
Music in Brazil by John P. Murphy
Call Number: ML3487. B7M87

ISBN: 0195166833

Publication Date: 2006-01-26

This book covers a wide spectrum of this music, including samba, bossa nova, Tropicália, and MPB (Música Popular Brasileira); regional traditional and popular music; Brazilian rock, rap, and electronica; and such genres as sertaneja (similar to country-and-western music) and brega (sentimental pop). It is organized around four themes: unity, diversity, cosmopolitanism, and verbal artistry. It also shows how Brazilian music expresses the unity of the country's culture, discussing, for example, how samba plays a major part in annual Carnaval celebrations and provides a focus for nationalist sentiment. In contrast, the book also demonstrates how music represents the diversity of Brazilian culture, describing how each of Brazil's regions is home to unique genres of music, and how the audiences for various types of music reflect class distinctions.
Music in Bulgaria by Timothy Rice
Call Number: ML252. R53

ISBN: 0195141482

Publication Date: 2003-10-02

This book presents a focused introduction to the rich and varied tradition of Bulgarian music. Taking readers on a tour of the country's musical landscape, it explores ways in which Bulgaria's rural traditions affect the expression and interpretation of its music and examines how Bulgaria's history has influenced its music over many decades. The book also shows how musical traditions have been preserved and have flourished despite the social changes brought about by the post-WWII era. It demonstrates how Bulgarian music is deeply embedded in the cultural, social, economic, and political life of the country.
Music in Central Java by Benjamin Brinner
Call Number: ML345. I5B75 2008

ISBN: 0195147375

Publication Date: 2007-03-12

This book introduces Java's musical and cultural landscape, showing how three themes--flexibility, appropriateness, and interconnectedness--characterize Javanese musical practices and traditions. It provides an engaging portrait of a leading Javenese musician, traces musical responses to radical social, political, and cultural changes over the past century, and considers Javanese music in relation to Indonesia and the rest of the world.
Music in China by Frederick Lau
Call Number: ML336. L28 2008

ISBN: 9780195301243

Publication Date: 2007-11-14

This book explores the Chinese musical landscape by looking at a variety of traditional and modern genres, including those performed among local and regional folk musicians, in academia, in the media, and on concert stages both inside and outside of China. It shows how the ever-changing Chinese musical tradition takes on particular meanings in China, in overseas Chinese communities, and in diverse international settings.
Music in East Africa by Gregory Barz
Call Number: ML350. B37

ISBN: 0195141520

Publication Date: 2004-02-26

This book highlights the importance of individual musicians as specialized members of communities and describes the role of musical performances in such social systems as popular entertainment and religious rituals. It also shows how traditional East African music and performance has responded to modernization, colonization, commercialism, and nationalism.
Music in Egypt by Scott L. Marcus
Call Number: ML355. E3M37 2007

ISBN: 9780195146455

Publication Date: 2006-11-17

This book offers detailed ethnographic documentation of seven performance traditions found in Egypt today: the call to prayer; madh, a genre of Sufi religious music; southern Egyptian mizmar folk music; early twentieth-century takht-based art music; music by the acclaimed singer Umm Kulthum, which dominated the mid-twentieth century; wedding procession music; and music by the current superstar pop singer Hakim.
Music in Ireland by Dorothea E. Hast; Stanley Scott
Call Number: ML3654. H37

ISBN: 0195145550

Publication Date: 2004-06-24

This book provides an engaging and focused introduction to Irish traditional music--types of singing, instrumental music, and dance that reflect the social values and political messages central to Irish identity. Vividly evoking Irish sounds, instruments, and dance steps, this book provides a springboard for the discussion of cultural and historical issues of identity, community, nationalism, emigration, transmission, and gender.
Music in Japan by Bonnie C. Wade
Call Number: ML340. W33

ISBN: 0195144880

Publication Date: 2004-09-23

This book introduces contemporary music from Japan, a nation in which traditional, Western, and popular music thrive side by side. It goes on to consider the intertextuality of Japanese music: how familiar themes, musical sounds, and structures have been maintained and transformed across the various traditions of Japanese performing arts over time.
Music in Korea by Donna Lee Kwon; Bonnie C. Wade (Editor); Patricia Shehan Campbell (Editor)
Call Number: ML342. K867 2012

ISBN: 9780195368277

Publication Date: 2011-10-07

This book provides a thematic, succinct introduction to the music of Korea - a region whose volatile political climate has often overshadowed its rich cultural and musical traditions. It features interviews with performers, eyewitness accounts of performances, and vivid illustrations. Kwon uses three themes - Korea as a transnational player in East Asia, the intersection of Korean music and cultural politics, and Korea's maintenance of its strong cultural identity through both musical and aesthetic continuity - to survey the region and draw parallels and contrasts between its various traditions. Each theme lends itself to a discussion of Korea's classical musical customs and its contemporary developments.
Music in Mainland Southeast Asia by Gavin Douglas
Call Number: ML330. D68 2010

ISBN: 0195367820

Publication Date: 2009-11-20

This book frames this survey of Southeast Asian music within three key themes: music and diversity, music and political turmoil, and music and globalization. Each theme lends itself to a discussion of the region's classical musical traditions, folk traditions, and contemporary developments. Uniquely focusing on the people who practice these musical traditions - rather than the locales from which the traditions originate - the text also follows individuals out of their native lands and into diasporic communities throughout the world.
Music in Mexico by Alejandro L. Madrid
Call Number: ML3485. M34 2013

ISBN: 9780199812806

Publication Date: 2012-12-14

This book guides students through modern-day music practices of Mexico. Applying three themes - ethnic identity, migration, and media influences - the text explores the music that Mexicans grow up listening to and shows how these traditions are the result of long-standing transnational dialogues.
Music in North India by George E. Ruckert
Call Number: ML338. R83

ISBN: 0195139933

Publication Date: 2003-12-11

The book ranges from the chants of the ancient Vedas to modern devotional singing and from the serious and meditative rendering of raga to the concert-hall excitement of the modern sitar, sarod, and tabla. It is framed around three major topics: the devotional component of North Indian music, the idea of fixity and spontaneity in the various styles of Indian music, and the importance of the verbal syllable to the expression of the musical aesthetic in North India. Featuring vivid eyewitness accounts of performances and descriptions of interviews with performers, it examines the form, structure, and expression of North Indian music while also illuminating its profound religious and cultural significance.
Music in Pacific Island Cultures by Brian Diettrich; Jane Freeman Moulin; Michael Webb
Call Number: ML3774. D54 2011

ISBN: 9780199733408

Publication Date: 2011-11-17

This book introduces to the music of the Pacific Islands - a region of the world that has long been underrepresented in ethnomusicological studies. Based on the authors' extensive fieldwork and experiences in Pacific Island cultures, the text draws on interviews with performers, eyewitness accounts of performances, vivid illustrations, and insights gained from ongoing participation in Pacific music. The authors use four themes - colonialism, belief systems, musical flows, and the re/presentation of Pacific cultures - to survey the region and draw parallels and contrasts between its various musical traditions.
Music in South India: the Karnatak Concert Tradition and Beyond by T. Viswanathan; Matthew Harp Allen
Call Number: ML338. V57

ISBN: 0195145917

Publication Date: 2003-12-04

This book introduces to the musical landscape of South India, discussing historical and contemporary performance, cultural history and geography, and the social organization of performance traditions. It centers on Karnatak concert music, a unique performance practice that juxtaposes gorgeous musical compositions with many different types of improvisation. It also compares types of songs, the evolution of music during the 20th century, and finishing with addressing other aspects of South India's rich musical environment, such as its thriving popular music scene; regional traditions ranging from the sacred to the secular, many of which integrate elements from dance and drama; and contemporary composition.
Music in the Andes by Thomas Turino
Call Number: ML3575. A475T87 2008

ISBN: 9780195306743

Publication Date: 2007-12-21

This book explores the ways in which modern styles meet and interact with older, indigenous music to create a continuously evolving musical heritage. It examines the major contemporary indigenous, mestizo, and urban musical traditions of the region through a series of case studies. It also describes "Andean folkloric music," a cosmopolitan tradition that is performed in subways, streets, and festivals around the world.
Music in the Hispanic Caribbean by Robin Moore
Call Number: ML3565. M66 2010

ISBN: 9780195375053

Publication Date: 2009-12-14

This book introduces the diverse musical styles including salsa, merengue, reggaeton, plena, Latin jazz, and the bolero. Ethnomusicologist Robin Moore employs three themes in his survey of Hispanic Caribbean music:* The cultural legacy of the slave trade* The creolization of Caribbean musical styles* Diaspora, migration, and movement Each theme lends itself to a discussion of the region's traditional musical genres as well as its more contemporary forms. The author draws on his extensive regional fieldwork, offering accounts of local performances, interviews with key performers, and vivid illustrations.
Music in Turkey by Eliot Bates
Call Number: ML345. T8B37 2011

ISBN: 9780195394146

Publication Date: 2010-08-20

This book employs four themes in his survey of Turkish music. One: the role of music in forming a national consciousness about local and regional cultures. Two: how changes in musical meaning pertain to changes in contemporary Turkish society. Three: the process of arrangement, where technology is creatively used to revitalize and modernize traditional music. Four: how today's Anatolian musical instrument performance and construction are linked to local, regional, and national identities. The author draws on his extensive regional fieldwork, offering accounts of local performances, interviews with key performers, and vivid illustrations.
Music in West Africa by Ruth M. Stone
Call Number: ML350. S76

ISBN: 9780195145007

Publication Date: 2004-08-05

This book describes how music and dance in West Africa are tied to the fabric of everyday social and political life. Kpelle musicians value musical performance where multiple performers each contribute aspects of sound that fit together in elaborate ways. Drawing upon her extensive fieldwork and research, author Ruth Stone--who was raised in the Bong County region of Liberia--centers on key stylistic elements that Kpelle performers articulate and emphasize: faceting or breaking music into smaller parts, layering tone colors, part-counterpart relationships in musical structures, and time and polyrhythm.

Aboriginal Music in Contemporary Canada by Anna Hoefnagels; Beverley Diamond
Call Number: ML3563.6. A154 2012

ISBN: 9780773539518

Publication Date: 2012-02-24

This book narrates a story of resistance and renewal, struggle and success, as indigenous musicians in Canada negotiate who they are and who they want to be. Comprised of essays, interviews, and personal reflections by Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal musicians and scholars alike, the collection highlights themes of innovation, teaching and transmission, and cultural interaction. This collection demonstrates how music is a powerful tool for articulating the social challenges faced by Aboriginal communities and an effective way to affirm indigenous strength and pride. It also celebrates and critically engages Canada's vibrant Aboriginal music scene.
Hip Hop Beats Indigenous Rhymes by Kyle T. Mays
Call Number: ML3531. M29H57 2018

ISBN: 9781438469461

Publication Date: 2018-04-01

This book documents recent developments among the Indigenous hip hop generation. Meeting at the nexus of hip hop studies, Indigenous studies, and critical ethnic studies, it argues that Indigenous people use hip hop culture to assert their sovereignty and challenge settler colonialism.
Indigenous Audibilities by Amanda Minks
Call Number: ML3549. M55I53 2023

ISBN: 9780197532492

Publication Date: 2023-11-03

In the middle of the 20th century, transnational networks sparked a range of cultural projects focused on collecting Indigenous music and folklore in the Americas. This book follows the social relations that created these collections in 4 interconnected case studies linking the U.S., Mexico, Nicaragua, and Chile. Indigenous collections were embedded in political projects that negotiated issues of cultural diplomacy, national canons, and heritage. The book presents a social-historical method of listening, reading, and thinking beyond the referentiality of archived texts, and in the process uncovers neglected genealogies of cultural music research in the Americas.
Indigenous Pop by Jeff Berglund (Editor); Jan Johnson (Editor); Kimberli Lee (Editor)
Call Number: ML3557. I63 2016

ISBN: 9780816509447

Publication Date: 2016-03-10

Popular music compels, it entertains, and it has the power to attract and move audiences. With that in mind, this book showcases the contributions of American Indian musicians to popular forms of music, including jazz, blues, country-western, rock and roll, reggae, punk, and hip hop. Arranged both chronologically and according to popular generic forms, it gives Indigenous pop a broad new meaning. In addition to examining the transitive influences of popular music on Indigenous expressive forms, the contributors also show ways that various genres have been shaped by what some have called the "Red Roots" of American-originated musical styles. This recognition of mutual influence extends into the ways of understanding how music provides methodologies for living and survival.
Musical Intimacies and Indigenous Imaginaries by Byron Dueck
Call Number: ML3563.7. M36D84 2013

ISBN: 0199747652

Publication Date: 2013-11-25

This book explores several styles performed in the vital aboriginal musical scene in the western Canadian province of Manitoba, focusing on fiddling, country music, Christian hymnody, and step dancing. It also outlines a compelling theory of musical publics, examines the complex, overlapping social orientations of contemporary musicians, and shows how music and dance play a central role in a distinctive indigenous public culture.
Music of the First Nations by Tara Browner (et al.)
Call Number: ML3557. M87 2009

ISBN: 9780252022210

Publication Date: 2009-03-13

This book presents a wide variety of approaches to an ethnomusicology of Inuit and Native North American musical expression. Contributors include Native and non-Native scholars who provide erudite and illuminating perspectives on aboriginal culture, incorporating both traditional practices and contemporary musical influences. Gathering scholarship on a realm of intense interest but little previous publication, this collection promises to revitalize the study of Native music in North America, an area of ethnomusicology that stands to benefit greatly from these scholars' cooperative, community-oriented methods.
Native Musicians in the Groove by Vincent Schilling
Call Number: ML3929. S35 2009

ISBN: 9780977918348

Publication Date: 2009-04-01

From the melodic sounds of a classical guitar or the wailing of an electric guitar to country music and punk rock, these musicians deliver. They offer a wide selection of musical styles as diverse as the music industry itself. Read about the lives of these outstanding performers who represent the fresh new sounds from Native American today. The music of these talented artists transcends borders and cultures to speak directly to the hearts and minds of listeners. But it was not always easy for them to reach their goals.
North American Indian Music by Rick Ench; Jay Cravath
Call Number: ML3557. E53 2002

ISBN: 9780531117729

Publication Date: 2002-03-01

Explores the music of various American Indian cultures, discussing the traditional instruments and the history and meaning of some of their songs.

The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Music by Mark Everist (Editor)
Call Number: ML172. C32 2011

ISBN: 9780521846196

Publication Date: 2011-03-03

From the emergence of plainsong to the end of the 14th-century, this book covers all the key aspects of medieval music. Rather than presenting merely a chronological view of the history of medieval music, the volume instead focuses on technical and cultural aspects of the subject. It gives a perspective on the music of the Middle Ages that will serve as a point of orientation for the informed listener and reader, and is a must-have guide for anyone with an interest in listening to and understanding medieval music.
The Cambridge History of 17th-Century Music by John Butt (Editor); Tim Carter (Editor)
Call Number: ML194. C36

ISBN: 0521792738

Publication Date: 2005-12-22

This book seeks to provide the most up-to-date knowledge on seventeenth-century music together with a vital questioning of the way in which such a history can be told or put together for our present purposes. It addresses traditional areas of knowledge such as opera and church music, but also look at the way this extremely diverse and dynamic musical world has been categorised in the past and how its products are viewed from various cultural points of view. There is a strong emphasis on the institutions, cultures and politics of the age, together with an interrogation of the ways in which music related to contemporary arts, sciences and beliefs.
The Cambridge History of 19th-Century Music by Jim Samson (Editor)
Call Number: ML196. C36

ISBN: 1139053442

Publication Date: 2008-03-28

This book provides an overview of music in the 19th century draws on the most recent scholarship in the field. It avoids mere repertory surveys, focusing instead on issues which illuminate the subject in novel and interesting ways. It concludes with an examination of musical styles and languages around the turn of the century. The addition of a detailed chronology and extensive glossaries makes this the most informed reference book on nineteenth-century music currently available.
The Cambridge History of 20th-Century Music by Nicholas Cook (Editor); Anthony Pople (Editor)
Call Number: ML197. C36

ISBN: 0521662567

Publication Date: 2004-08-05

This book is an appraisal of the development of music in the 20th-century from the perspective of the 21st. It traces the progressive fragmentation of the European 'art' tradition, and its relocation as one tradition among many at the century's end. While the focus is on Western traditions, both 'art' and popular, these are situated within the context of world music, including a case study of the interaction of 'art' and traditional musics in post-colonial Africa. The aim throughout is to set musical developments in the context of social, ideological, and technological change, and to understand reception and consumption as integral to the history of music.
Concise History of Western Music by Barbara Russano Hanning
Call Number: ML60. H4982 2010

ISBN: 9780393932515

Publication Date: 2009-12-23

Based on A History of Western Music, this book offers authoritative coverage of the essential works and genres in Western music history. By setting musical events into a memorable historical and cultural context, it provides a history students will read and remember.
Exploring Twentieth-Century Music by Arnold Whittall
Call Number: ML197. W56

ISBN: 0521816424

Publication Date: 2003-02-27

This book moves between the cultural and the technical, the general and the particular, to explore the various contexts and critical perspectives which illuminate certain works a selection of 20th century composers. Considering the extent to which place and nationality contribute to the definition of musical character, it investigates the relevance of such images as mirroring and symmetry, the function of genre and the way types of identity may be suggested by such labels as classical, modernist, secular, sacred radical, traditional.
Girls Rock! by Mina Carson; Tisa Lewis; Susan M. Shaw
Call Number: ML82. C37

ISBN: 0813123100

Publication Date: 2004-07-23

This book explores the many ways women have defined themselves as rock musicians in an industry once dominated and controlled by men. Integrating history, feminist analysis, and developmental theory, it describes how and why women have become rock musicians, what inspires them to play and perform, how they write, what their music means to them, and what they hope their music means to listeners. As these musicians tell their stories, topics emerge that illuminate broader trends in rock's history.
Music and History by Jeffrey H. Jackson (Editor); Stanley C. Pelkey (Editor)
Call Number: ML3916. M86 2005

ISBN: 1578067626

Publication Date: 2005-06-10

This book begins with a simple question: Why haven't historians and musicologists been talking to one another? This collection of original essays, the first of its kind, argues that the conversation between scholars in the two fields can become richer and more mutually informing.
The Other Classical Musics by Neil Sorrell (et al.)
Call Number: ML3545. O85 2015

ISBN: 1843837269

Publication Date: 2015-10-16

What is classical music? This book answers the question in a manner never before attempted, by presenting the history of fifteen parallel traditions, of which Western classical music is just one. Each music is analysed in terms of its modes, scales, and theory; its instruments, forms, and aesthetic goals; its historical development, golden age, and condition today; and the conventions governing its performance. With specialist language kept to a minimum, it's designed to help both students and general readers to appreciate musical traditions which may be unfamiliar to them, and to encounter the reality which lies behind that lazy adjective 'exotic'.
Playing with History by John Butt
Call Number: ML457. B92

ISBN: 0521813522

Publication Date: 2002-05-30

Why do we feel the need to perform music in a historically informed style? Is this need related to wider cultural concerns? This book sums up debates on the nature of the early music movement and historically informed performance, calling upon a seemingly inexhaustible fund of ideas gleaned from historical musicology, analytic philosophy, literary theory, historiography and theories of modernism and postmodernism. It develops the critical views of both supporters and detractors of the movement, while claiming ultimately that it has more intellectual and artistic potential than its detractors may have assumed.
Taboo Tunes by Peter Blecha
Call Number: ML3916. B54

ISBN: 0879307927

Publication Date: 2004-04-01

In this extensively researched ode to scandal, Peter Blecha recounts the travails of musicians who have dared to air "unacceptable" topics. Filled with several centuries' worth of raunchy sex ditties, morbid murder ballads, satanic songs, paeans to intoxication and radical political anthems, this book lays the censors' stories bare, and casts a much-needed spotlight on civil liberties and artistic freedom in our post-9/11 world.
Troubadours and Troublemakers by Kevin Comtois; Jennifer Shaw (Illustrator)
Call Number: ML3561. P6C66 2015

ISBN: 9781505856200

Publication Date: 2015-02-02

This book is an examination of American protest music from the beginning of our republic to the rockers of the 60s. It begins with the protest music of the early American settlers and ends with the radical songs of hippies and yippies of the early seventies. In between we survey the music of slaves, abolitionists, soldiers, miners, unionists, wobblies, okies, and folkies. It reviews American topical songs from the first revolutionaries to the radical rockers of the late 20th Century.